The Vanishing of Dr Winter

I m a huge fan of this cosy crime series set in the s This one was a little different to the others a missing person rather than a murder and lots of flashbacks to the First World War For m

I’m a huge fan of this cosy crime series, set in the 1920s. This one was a little different to the others -a missing person rather than a murder, and lots of flashbacks to the First World War. For me it was really interesting to think about how the First World War would have impacted the mood of the 1920s, and it was another great Posie Parker story, this time set in Cambridge. I love love love this series – check them all out – they’re so reasonably priced. Popular The Vanishing of Dr Winter By L.B. Hathaway is Book Can the past really come back to haunt you Cambridge, Christmas 1922Posie Parker has cleared a space in her hectic schedule to try to unravel a tragedy in her own family But Posie s past is hiding around every turn in the old University town, and she finds herself taking on a new case which is positively teeming with ghosts, shadows and secrets, where nothing is quite w Can the past really come back to haunt you Cambridge, Christmas 1922Posie Parker has cleared a space in her hectic schedule to try to unravel a tragedy in her own family But Posie s past is hiding around every turn in the old University town, and she finds herself taking on a new case which is positively teeming with ghosts, shadows and secrets, where nothing is quite what it seems.In a quest to find out what happened to Dr William Winter, a brilliant Cambridge doctor who disappeared five years previously, Posie is forced to confront her own painful memories of the Great War.But just how safe is it really to go digging up the past And will Posie get to spend Christmas this year with anything other than Mr Minks, the office cat and a lonely heart for company This is a classic Golden Age of Crime mystery which will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Downton Abbey The Vanishing of Dr Winter is the fourth book in the delightfully classic Posie Parker Mystery Series, although the novel can be enjoyed as a stand alone story in its own right If you love an action packed historical cozy crime with a feisty protagonist, download a sample or buy The Vanishing of Dr Winter now.. Cambridge educated, British born L.B Hathaway writes historical fiction and contributes to a number of popular history magazines and websites She worked as a lawyer at Lincoln s Inn in London for almost a decade before becoming a full time writer She brings her love of detective novels set in the Golden Age of Crime and an obsession with English history to her own writing.The Posie Parker series of cosy crime novels span the 1920s They each combine a core central mystery, an exploration of the reckless glamour of the age and a feisty protagonist who you would love to have as your best friend Her other interests, in no particular order, are very fast downhill skiing, theatre going, drinking strong tea, Tudor history, exploring castles and generally trying to cram as much into life as possible She lives in London and Switzerland with her husband and young family.. A viral Books The Vanishing of Dr Winter I’m a huge fan of this cosy crime series, set in the 1920s. This one was a little different to the others -a missing person rather than a murder, and lots of flashbacks to the First World War. For me it was really interesting to think about how the First World War would have impacted the mood of the 1920s, and it was another great Posie Parker story, this time set in Cambridge. I love love love this series – check them all out – they’re so reasonably priced.

About Author

  1. Cambridge educated, British born L.B Hathaway writes historical fiction and contributes to a number of popular history magazines and websites She worked as a lawyer at Lincoln s Inn in London for almost a decade before becoming a full time writer She brings her love of detective novels set in the Golden Age of Crime and an obsession with English history to her own writing.The Posie Parker series of cosy crime novels span the 1920s They each combine a core central mystery, an exploration of the reckless glamour of the age and a feisty protagonist who you would love to have as your best friend Her other interests, in no particular order, are very fast downhill skiing, theatre going, drinking strong tea, Tudor history, exploring castles and generally trying to cram as much into life as possible She lives in London and Switzerland with her husband and young family.

    Reply

The Vanishing of Dr Winter Comment

  1. I m a huge fan of this cosy crime series, set in the 1920s This one was a little different to the others a missing person rather than a murder, and lots of flashbacks to the First World War For me it was really interesting to think about how the First World War would have impacted the mood of the 1920s, and it was another great Posie Parker story, this time set in Cambridge I love love love this series check them all out they re so reasonably priced.


  2. Posie is a delightful character and I love the series both for her and the settings, 1920s London This one takes place near Christmas 1922, and has flashbacks to the great War during which the story has roots.


  3. Four and a half stars I really enjoyed this view into Posie Parkers past The interplay between the Great War and its survivors and its victims, and the aftermath of the war was well done Looking forward to the next in the series


  4. Excellent addition to the Posie Parker series A lot of background information we didn t have before, including Posie s war years, and many twists and turns Highly recommend


  5. Good but odd jarring notesI have read and enjoyed the first four books in this series and overall I have found them to be interesting and factually correct, however there are these little jarring notes that jump out and grate.I was always brought up with the saying as sure as eggs is eggs and have never heard as sure as bread was bread in any context before perhaps it s an obscure regional thing Other things that jarred was a character buying half a kilo of sweets which would never have happened [...]


  6. A great but sad readThis was another wonderful book, but without so much action as the previous one There allot of what went on in the Great War, meaning, WWl As Posie sets off to find Dr Winter her past is revisited when she drove an ambulance during the war Also allot co es out about her brother, Richard, who was killed in that same war So much sadness, but also so much disguises of people that thought had died but had come home, but changed their whole identity I can t imagine how they could [...]


  7. Dead or alive I quite liked this book It has plenty of twist and turns to the plot and keeps the reader guessing to the very end I didn t realize how much chaos happened after WWI in terms of keeping track of the living and the dead Neither does Posey as she begins to unravel the mystery It was nice to have some insight into Posie s world as volunteer nurse in the Great War Full of surprises, it makes for an enjoyable read.


  8. Another Posie Parker successThis Posie Parker mystery was another, can t put it down until I m done , read It is interesting to learn about Posie with each mystery, and there are plenty of plot twists and surprises to keep you interested until the story ends I especially enjoy the post WWI setting.


  9. Another Nosy Posie I can t put downThis author is so researched that I barely feel guilty snuggling up in my room and spending a bunch of time reading an entire book I have learned so much of the War to end all Wars You ve gotta start at the beginning and keep going Kindle streaming is THE newest way to to have a GREAT time









  10. Wonderful story This my second best story of the series I enjoyed the twists and turns that keep the reader guessing what will happen next.Dr Winter is a deplorable character and so is Felicity I understand the reason for the the conclusion, but wished there would have been a way to make them accountable I cannot say without giving away spoilers, but I was happy with the way th author dealt with Posie s surprise Sch a heartwarming storyn t wat to read the next book in the series certainly recom [...]



  11. A feisty sleuth digs into a wartime disappearance for a woman she hated.This is my 4th Posie Parker a feisty private detective in the 1920 s L.B Hathaway has very readable books that are easy to get through in a few hours.Posie is a consistently developed character The premise is fantastic this one about a doctor presumed dead in the war who is later spotted in Oxford Having the person who hires Posie turn out to be someone she hated and who also hated her was an excellent twist.I enjoyed the pu [...]


  12. This book is just like sitting down to tea with an old friend I absolutely love the Posie Parker series and The Vanishing of Dr Winter is probably my favorite thus far This story takes us back to Posie s days as an ambulance driver during World War I and readers finally get to hear about Posie s past The historical detail was amazing and I really enjoyed the creativity that was used in resurrecting Dr Winter As I was reading I so wanted to know the answer to the mystery, but I absolutely dreade [...]


  13. Love, love, love this series I hope you have read the previous books in this series It isn t a necessity but will enhance your enjoyment of this one This story takes place a few years after the World War 1 The war is still a very large part of circumstances in England at the time and plays a major role in the plot lines.


  14. Poise Parker mystery seriesI have enjoyed reading the exploits of miss Posie Parker These books will appeal to all who like period mysteries and British copies I m looking forward to the next one Can t wait to see what her next case will be and how her romance with Alaric progresses.



  15. The author seems to be getting better at writing these books In this book, the characters really came alive to me Through many twists and turns, the plot advances nicely.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *