The Reckoning

Bestseller Books The Reckoning release Unnatural calm prevails Trepidation builds Silently a storm gathers Survivors from mainland Europe and North America converge on Britain Weary confused all co

Bestseller Books The Reckoning release Unnatural calm prevails Trepidation builds Silently, a storm gathers.Survivors from mainland Europe and North America converge on Britain Weary, confused, all come seeking answers some are spoiling for a fight What began with the Cleansing and was hastened by the Beacon nears fruition But time is running out, and human numbers are too few to win the last battle aloneUnnatural calm prevails Trepidation builds Silently, a storm gathers.Survivors from mainland Europe and North America converge on Britain Weary, confused, all come seeking answers some are spoiling for a fight What began with the Cleansing and was hastened by the Beacon nears fruition But time is running out, and human numbers are too few to win the last battle alone Unless help can be found from the unlikeliest of allies, failure is assured Humankind faces its ultimate test The Reckoning is upon us.. Good Kindle The Reckoning So we (sadly) come to the end of the Earth Haven saga then - Sam Kates has written a brilliant trilogy one in which the end is not disappointing but marvellous, I have loved it all the way through.The thing about this story is it does have a more unusual plot, something slightly different to the normal "plague comes everyone wanders about fighting with each other then dies" type post apocalyptic drama - very character focused with moments as well of pure action, that come upon you suddenly and leave you slightly out of breath.In The Reckoning the final battle is coming, it is a battle of unexpected allies and unusual foes as has been set up during the previous two books - on the way to the really quite excellent finale the author pulls together the various strands of the created mythology in fine fashion - addictive reading from some very clever writing.I do like a well told yarn and this is a darned good one - the first book really set the scene and was unexpectedly clever - book two gave the middle ground as things settled then went into upheavel once more - all the time we were getting to know more and more about a set of characters I have come to love and certainly they will stay with me. Overall a really excellent and top notch set of novels to be had here - a story to be savoured and I have no hesitation in highly recommending these for fans of Scifi, Fantasy and post apocalytic shenanigans - I can't imagine that you will be disappointed especially if you like something just slightly quirkier than expected. And absolute brownie points for never letting the quality slip. Not a single dull moment to be had anywhere in the Earth Haven trilogy. Rocking.Happy Reading Folks!

About Author

  1. As you ve probably gathered since you ve found your way to my author profile, I sometimes go by the name Sam Kates If there s a photo on this page of a middle aged bloke with a hair shortage, that s me.I live in Wales, a small constituent country of Great Britain and the U.K Like many of my fellow countrymen, I possess a fondness for rugby union though these days only as a spectator and a good pint of beer Usually the two go hand in hand.As often as I can make the time darn that interfering day job , I m an author I write science fiction, fantasy, horror and general fiction You can sign up to be kept informed of new releases and promotions no spam, promise on my website.Outside of writing, my main ambition is to see Wales beat the New Zealand All Blacks to win the Rugby World Cup A forlorn hope, I suspect, but if you re going to harbour ambitions, they might as well be lofty, right

    Reply

The Reckoning Comment

  1. So we sadly come to the end of the Earth Haven saga then Sam Kates has written a brilliant trilogy one in which the end is not disappointing but marvellous, I have loved it all the way through.The thing about this story is it does have a unusual plot, something slightly different to the normal plague comes everyone wanders about fighting with each other then dies type post apocalyptic drama very character focused with moments as well of pure action, that come upon you suddenly and leave you sli [...]


  2. The third and final installment of the Earth Haven trilogy is finally here, and the Literary Connoisseur s verdict is in.First there was the Cleansing of Earth Haven Then, the Beacon was activated, which signaled to toxic beings destined to destroy what we call home And in the end, there will be a Reckoning.The Reckoning was an extremely satisfactory ending to an original Sam Kates story As I expected, The Reckoning was missing the key elements that made The Cleansing book one magical The Clean [...]


  3. This is the third and final part of the Earth Haven series and just as the two earlier books have provided surprises, The Reckoning does so too It s hard to give away specifics without spoiling the earlier books for those still to read them but I will say that things aren t always as the reader thought In fact they aren t as many of the characters thought either This is a successful and seemingly effortless blend of speculative post apocalyptic story and science fiction We follow the fortunes of [...]


  4. 3.5 stars for a decent finale to the Earth Haven series Good, solid writing made this an easy read and was nice to have the tale all wrapped up It dropped half a star for me as some of the side characters seemed a little superfluous and the whole London War sections were uninteresting and didn t add a whole lot to the tale.Earth Haven is good post apocalyptic fiction, which is exactly what I was looking for when I came across Sam Kates would recommend it


  5. A fitting end to the series It wrapped nicely withal questions answered Well almost all Sorts leaves a door open for a possible sequel Overall a good series.


  6. Even better on second readingRe read the earth haven trilogy Loved it even the second time A rollicking adventure, mind reading and mind controlling aliens here from thousands of years ago Such good characterisations that you want to meet them, humans and aliens and dusty.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *